I’ve had my Nintendo Switch for roughly a week now, and I really love it, but there is one thing that may become an issue – Pro Controller support. While that may sound crazy this early in the consoles life-cycle, it’s starting to bring to mind the Pro Controller support on another Nintendo console – The Wii U. While the option was there for some games, it was completely ignored by the majority of game creators.

One of the things that I absolutely love about the Nintendo Switch is the versatility in the ways you can play it. It’s great to be able to have the option of the Joycon Grip, Joycon by themselves, or the Pro Controller. It all comes down to personal preference.

On the most recent episode of the Life of Gaming Podcast, Chris and Josh mentioned how they only play the console in handheld mode. I, on the other hand, am the complete opposite; I only play it when docked. That is why I absolutely love the Pro Controller. It’s the ultimate home console input device.

Recently, some news had come to my attention that brought concern. Master Blaster Zero will launch of the Nintendo Switch without Pro Controller support. While it will be added in a future update, it won’t be there the day it drops on the Nintendo eShop. It’s great to know it’s coming, but we don’t have the exact window for when it will arrive. This has definitely changed my current decision for picking up the game. While this is only one title, it has definitely perked my ears to the situation.

While I may seem paranoid, another great example of a popular game lacking Pro Controller support is Snipperclips. This is an excellent puzzle game, however, your only options are the Joycon Grip (in single player mode) or the Joycons on their side. When recently speaking with my co-host Chris, he told me that he and his wife were playing through Snipperclips, but she was bothers by the single Joycon control. She told him she would much rather prefer the d-pad on the Pro Controller. Unlike Master Blaster Zero, Snipperclips currently has no plans to add support in the future. It appears that they won’t be returning to that game anytime soon.

Nintendo Switch Pro Controller

Some may be saying, “Why do you care if the Pro Controller is supported or not? You can always use the Joycon Grip.” While that is true, it all comes down to preference. In my opinion, while the Joycon Grip is a decent option, I feel that the sticks are too short, the buttons too smaller, and the controller, overall, is just too light. I enjoy the larger buttons and weightier feel on the Pro Controller (It also worth mentioning that the controller cost $70, an investment I don’t take lightly).

When it comes down to it, I would choose to use the Joycon Grip over not gaming at all, but I hope it doesn’t come to that. Nintendo has always been great about giving us multiple ways to enjoy our games (the Wii U is a great example of that with the Gamepad, Pro Controller, Wii Pro Controller, and Wii Remotes), but haven’t always been the best at supporting their plethora of controller options. I have a feeling that it will all come down to the sales of the Pro Controller.

Nintendo Switch Joycon Grip

Development costs can be very pricey. I completely understand. Why would a company use their minimal resources to create options for a Pro Controller, when every Nintendo Switch comes with a Joycon Grip right out of the box? I just hope that future titles won’t let me down.

So, are you worried about future Pro Controller support? What is your preferred way to play? Let us know in the comments down below!

Leave a Reply

